Bought camera - here we go!

Discussion in 'Photos & Videos' started by spitfire, Nov 22, 2002.

  1. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    the fruit store once again.... the same dog, ever hopeful....

    Attached Files:

  2. marty w.

    marty w. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work!!
    Please post more.
    Marty
  3. Matt Probst

    Matt Probst Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very nice Val...congrats on the camera & the modeling!

    Matt--Hershey, Pa.
  4. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent photo and modelling Val, could resist playing around with one of your photo's. Hope you don't mind.
    Shamus
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  5. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mind?!! Mind??? No, I certainly don't mind Shamus. You are the master photographer and modeller after all. It looks much more like the time period now. Cool!

    And I want to thank all my other role models, like Casey, Tyson, Charlie, Gary and Jon (who's a kind of opposite role model :D !) for the kind words and encouragement. Matt, Marty, Chris, Clerk, BDC - thanks guys!

    BTW, I went back to the camera store today, and traded the Pentax for an Olympus (brand of the gods) Ultra Zoom as mentioned by Shamus and Gary on my other thread. I decided since I was up in the higher price end (for me) I might as well go another hundred bucks and get something that can really zoom in.

    No pix yet, going to see Harry Potter tonight. Maybe tomorrow.

    Cheers
    :D Val
  6. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL!!!! :D :D :D
  7. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Val,
    If you need help with your Olympus C-700 let me know.

    Shamus[​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. Peirce

    Peirce Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was away on vacation when you started this thread. Good job. Keep up the experimenting. You are off to a good start and when you are comfortable with the new camera you will do even better. I'm anxious to see the results from the new, new camera.
  9. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Shamus

    Thanks for the offer! I hope you won't regret it. ;) because here is my first question. How do I get into the super macro mode?

    Thanks in advance.
    :D Val
  10. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the new camera up and running. Here is a shot of the loading area at Thomas Manufacturing. I scratchbuilt the dock and sliding door out of plastic (using a left over grab iron for the door handle) and the freight elevator door is made of stripwood stained with some old stain I had kicking around. At one time I lived in an old warehouse and I have a real soft spot for those old wooden freight elevator doors.

    Attached Files:

  11. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay a little tuition first:-
    On the Olympus C700, rotate the dial to A/S/M
    Now power up the camera – press OK button (in the middle)
    Press right button next to the OK button for “MODE MENU” PRESS RIGHT BUTTON AGAIN. (New screen)
    ISO set it to 100 (press ok) move down and set A/S/M TO “A” (press ok)
    Press left button next to “ok” to go back.
    Press bottom button then right button for Picture and set that to “SHQ” (press ok)
    Go down to the bottom for “SETUP”
    Press right button next to “OK” for custom
    All the way to the bottom and press “Custom”
    Set Fno. to f8 and move down one and set shutter speed to 1/30 press left button twice
    To go back to normal screen then press OK to quit.

    Camera is now set up for indoor photo shooting using good lighting, if you just want to take a photo outdoors, move the dial to AUTO and take pictures, for your railroad stuff, move the dial back to A/S/M --- There are loads more settings you can use, but lets try this first.


    For Macro use the above settings, place the camera on a tripod and switch on the camera to “A” (A/S/M) Just right of the viewfinder you will see three buttons, next to the one marked Drive is the button for using macro along with other stuff. Press that button three times until the flower is in the window. It’s now ready to take a macro photo, now press the button marked “Drive” 4 times to get the camera into time exposure mode (10 seconds) set the camera to the place you wish to photograph up close, (2” it will go down to) and take the picture. It’s as easy as that.

    Shamus[​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  12. spitfire

    spitfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great. Thank you very much Shamus. There's just one little problem, which is that I can't seem to find where I change the f-stop. My camera is actually the C-730 Ultra Zoom, not the C-700 so perhaps there are some differences in the setup. Guess I'll just have to read the manual!!!!!

    Cheers
    :D Val
  13. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah Val, quite possible that there is a small difference, can't comment as I have not seen that one.
    Shamus[​IMG]

    [​IMG]