Boba Fett Helmet 1:1 scale

Revell-Fan

Co-Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hi fans,

a few months ago I found a great-looking paper model of one of the coolest movie props ever - the helmet of the most notorious bounty hunter of the galaxy, Boba Fett:

http://www.tamasoft.co.jp/pepakura-en/gallery/gallerydetails.php?id=1460

I downloaded it and put it in my archive, not knowing if I would be able to tackle it in the near future. With Star Wars fever haunting the planet a colleague approchaed me at work. She knew that I was a paper modeler and asked me if I knew something cool as a present for her possible future son-in-law. I immediately recalled that fantastic helmet and she was all in. Since she had absolutely no idea how a paper model was made she asked me if I would be interested in building it for her. Well, you know me, I couldn't say no. ;) Unfortunately life interfered (time was scarce and a nasty cold stopped my activities), so the project was delayed. Till now! Since I do not have the time to continue the other projects I have begun yet I chose this as a quick after work build.

Before printing I slightly changed the layout and the flap positions of the parts. I also deleted the unneeded texture images which reduced the file size to one third of the original one. I was a bit afraid of the thin strips but these fears were unjustified. Here are the first pics of the build:

DSCF1389.jpg

DSCF1390.jpg

DSCF1391.jpg

DSCF1392.jpg

DSCF1393.jpg

DSCF1394.jpg

DSCF1395.jpg

The visor parts were printed on glossy photo paper. Unfortunately the surface proved to be very fragile and when I glued the piece to the frame I noticed that my finger nails had left it with a lot of bad scratches. For that reason I'll prepare a revised part which also will remove the edge in the middle.

To be continued..! :)

Last edited:

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
I think your fingernails add a lot of character, really! Excellent job! :)