Better Modeling with Meta/Pep/P.N – Tutorial 1: Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaybats

Better Modeling with Meta/Pep/P.N

Tutorial 1: Introduction
COMPUTER-ASSISTED 3D CARDMODEL DESIGN (CA3CD) FOR BEGINNERS

It has been observed that it is a bit disappointing for a forum devoted to advancing card-modeling to have very few dedicated tutorials on the subject, which would allow the hobby to spread to a much wider audience. Apart from a few excellent pieces like those of Paragon and Nobi, a systematic treatment has not been posted. A number of tutorial pages have been referenced in several threads prior to this, but most have actually been incidentally relevant to card-modeling since they were made for other purposes, such as making 3D models for flight simulator programs. While recognizing their value for card-modelers who have had either the patience, perseverance, or the experience to apply them to the hobby, absolute beginners may find them slightly too advanced or bewildering, or at least confounding enough to decide not to pursue the more fundamental challenge of this hobby: designing one’s own card-model.

Throughout the rest of January and into March, I will be writing a series of tutorials on computer-assisted 3D card-model design written with the absolute beginner in mind. The objective of this series is to provide the necessary tools and skills that would allow one who has had no prior experience to become a relatively proficient designer who can make his own card-models and share them with this community. These tutorials will be composed of 5 threads containing the following:

. Tutorial 1: Introduction – Description and objective, basic card-modeling software, recommended settings and configurations

. Tutorial 2: Basic 3-D Sculpting and Texturing from Schematics – Making a simple model and texture out of schematic drawings, then making and applying a flat texture to the model (NX Orbital Inspection Pod), unfolding