Beginner Needs Help

slc

I am a beginner to model railroading. I have decided I want to start with N gauge. I have a bench built but I am struggling on what type of track to start with. I want permanently mount the track on the bench to later add scenery, etc. What's best for a beginner, Kato Unitrack, Bachmann EZ Track, Atlas Track? Thanks for any and all help.

cidchase

Hi slc,
Do you have a specific track plan in mind? I've not really used anything but flex track,
but the Kato track, from what I've read, is hard to beat! And it will get you a good-looking
setup in a short time. How big of a layout are you building?

And Welcome to The-Gauge:wave: :wave:

fsm1000

Hello and welcome slc.
I don't do ready made track, I handlay mine. An option you may want to try in the future.
For now I am sure a lot of people here will be able to help you so sit back and read a ton of stuff.
Lots of stuff to read here and on our sites:)

Take your time and have fun. :)
Enjoy

rfmicro

SLC, any of the track metioned in your post will work. As it comes with plastic balast as part of the track, you can use it as is or add additional ballast later for a more prototypical look. It is easy to work with but costs more than due to the addition of the plastic ballast. You can glue down this track onto most any surface.

36" long flex track (Atlas or Micro-Engineering) make the best. They can come with brown or Black ties, weathered or non-weathered. It must be laid on either cork or a rubber material from Woodland Scenics. Both cn be glued down to most any surface.

If your layout includes switches, then obtain the switches from the vendor you buy the track from. If you one day want to expand into DCC, buy the DCC compatible (insulated frog, I believe) switches from the flex track vendor of choice.