Ballasting Turnouts.

tetters

Rail Spiking Fool!
Jan 21, 2005
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hey folks. It's been a while.

I'm detailing my trackwork and was about to ballast some turnouts. I wonder if anyone can offer up some tricks to keep from glueing the points in place. I remember reading somewhere that a light application of oil prior to glueing is effective. Wonder if anyone else has tried this and what results were achieved.

Thx!

BudM

OldGuy
Mar 26, 2008
Ontario, Canada
Ballasting

Although I'm very new to model railroading, I tried this with success on my new layout. Using a toothpick, apply a very thin layer of Vaseline to the switchpoints and rails to prevent them from becoming glued together. The good thing about using Vaseline is, that it doesn't conduct electricity either so it workes well for this problem.

Not too much now, just a light layer rubbed on with a toothpick works fine.

Bud M.

Hey folks. It's been a while.

I'm detailing my trackwork and was about to ballast some turnouts. I wonder if anyone can offer up some tricks to keep from glueing the points in place. I remember reading somewhere that a light application of oil prior to glueing is effective. Wonder if anyone else has tried this and what results were achieved.

Thx!

RobertInOntario

Mar 22, 2006
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I got around this problem by buying some scenic matting. This basically resembles ballast but is actually a sheet of card-like material that you cut & place under the track.

I try to place this matting under any points and problematic sections of track that often require repair. The effect is good and quite convincing -- in "small doses" it can pass itself off for ballast. Because these sections of track are not really ballasted, you can easily make track adjustments as well.

You could practically "ballast" your entire layout this way, but the "cheating effect would probably become too obvious!

It's made by Hornby -- I can provide more info if you're interested.