Badger 250 Airbrush

I have a model 250 Badger Airbrush kit. I was wondering if this is adequate for using to apint my rolling stock and locomotives.

I have never used an airbrush before to do etal painting and the like and I am hoping that this one is good enough or can be upgraded somehow if it isn't

Graham Hoffman

The 250 was the first one I owned and I used it for many years for spraying all types of models, wood, metal and plastic. It's not really an airbrush, rather a sprayer. Good for general spraying but not too good for detail work. I have an old model 200 (single action, internal mix) that I would recommend for all-around airbrushing. Very good for fine detail work as well as general spraying. And despite all you hear about it being hard to clean, it's really not....takes less than five minutes.

Russ Bellinis

Chessie1973 said:
I have never used an airbrush before to do etal painting and the like and I am hoping that this one is good enough or can be upgraded somehow if it isn't

Next time you are at a swap meet, GAT Show, etc. pick up some old junk shells or freight cars. Usually some of the vendors will have a "junk box" of misc. incomplete or broken cars for sale cheap. Pick up a bunch for air brush practice.

Glen Haasdyk

I have the Badger 250 and I think it works great for what I use it for. If you are just painting engines and rolling stock it will do the job quite well, but it won't sprat fine enough to do any weathering. I do have a small, piston-type compressor running it since canned air was getting to expensive.

cpNscale

I am looking at buying the badger 250 today.I was wondering how it works with arcrilic paint and how much water to paint ratio for spraying.

Glen Haasdyk