Bachmann freight cars coupler

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by patgin, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. patgin

    patgin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,
    I bought a 36 cars lot. They are from Bachmann, white box with purple '' Freight cars ' write on it. The guy who sold me those cars told me that they are rapido coupler equipped but they don't, they are equipped with another kind of coupler but I can't tell which kind. Someone knows? I also have 55 locos and 25 other cars all equipped with rapido coupler. What should be the best move to do ( at the better pice) ?
    Thanks
  2. eightyeightfan1

    eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you post a pic?
    The only other coupler I can think of that would be the Micro-Trains truck mounted coupler, which looks close to the real thing.
  3. patgin

    patgin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try to post a pic but I can say that they are truck mounted coupler, looks like real thing so maybe you are right. The coupler does not have the little pin below then, only the hook.

    I wonder if I could only change the hook/coupler and keep the truck?

    I will try to take a picture this afternoon
    Thanks
    Pat
  4. patgin

    patgin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    No time to take a picture but this is a picture took on the Bachmann website:
    Welcome to Bachmann Trains Online

    This is one of the cars, the coupler is not a Rapido one but don't have the pin below the hook....anyone could help me?
    Thanks
  5. baldwinjl

    baldwinjl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    That pic is of an HO car, so it isn't the coupler you have, for sure.

    So, look at this page:
    Information on Couplers

    A lot of times the pin will fall out/be taken out of the MT couplers. For manual use, they are not really needed, but they are eaily replaced.

    Jeff
  6. patgin

    patgin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok,
    I check all the N scale coupler on this page, they looks like Intermountain coupler....no pin...
    I will take a picture tonight...this will help ...
    Patrick