Bachman

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by glennfidduck, Feb 7, 2006.

1. glennfidduck

glennfidduck New Member

I'm brand new to G Guage I'm hearing from people to stay away from Bachman Trains. Why?
  2. Philinbos

Philinbos Member

Everyone has there favorite brand, Heres my take for what it's worth. I run mainly Hartland Products, 1. because they are made in the USA and 2. because I like steam. I have a fair amout of Aristocraft engines and rolling stock - they've been dependable for me. I have some usa boxcars -great graphics but I have to glue peices back on everytime I use them. I have one USA GP-7, After less then a year it would only run in one direction... USA said they would fix it for $100.00 -so much for their warranty ( No more USA for me) I have one piece of ACCUcraft- I love it but it's out of my budget... I have some LGB - very nice, but again rather pricey. Now Bachman - I have three Bachman sets, They all run fine, and were a good value for the money. They are more fragile then the other brands, and occasionally some of them need to have parts glued (sp?)back on.
    I also have one of their early Shays- It's a wonderful engine, impressive to watch, however the trucks have a tendency to fall off... In summary, I wouldn't avoid Bachman if you like something of theirs , just be aware that you have do to be more careful with it. ( To be fair I should tell you that I'm a Hartland & Aristocraft dealer, and as such most likely have a bias) Hope this helps...

P.S. If your running outside, don't use Bachman or Hartland :wave: track - It's just not rugged enough
  3. N Gauger

N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

He's right :) I have 1 LGB, 1 Aristo Craft and my favorite engine is a Bachmann Spectrum Climax... So I have 1 of each of the 3 of more popular brands and they are all good engines :) If you take care of them :)
  4. glennfidduck

glennfidduck New Member