Atlas track layout for newbie??

Russ Bellinis

I think there are two main problems with ordering that layout. 1. I've never had much luck getting Atlas turnouts to work properly. The switch points are stamped from sheet metal, and tend to "roll over" and let the rolling stock drop between the rails into the ballast. 2. The layout is made from Atlas snap track, which means you will have track joints every 9 inches. If you don't run drop wires for every track section (very tedious!), every joint is a potential spot for a bad electrical connection. That might be a nice layout for a first layout, but I would use flex track, and Peco switches.

Nazgul

Hi Stan,
I'm a newbie myself who owes what little I know to the good folks here. To offer an opinion on this layout, I have to ask you a question: what do you like about it? Is this something just to learn on or will this be your layout for the forseeable future? I see that it fits on a 10'x6' table. Is that the space available to you? Do you have more? If you post a drawing of the space with measurements and obstructions I'm sure everyone here can give you more choices. My biggest piece of advice would be...don't sell your self short. take it one step at a time and you'll accomplish more than you thought possible. It really comes down to what you expect from this layout.

aslan

Thanks Steve for the comments.
Here's what I'm thinking: I'm looking at the layout as if the "8" were on its side. On the left lower corner would be some sort of mountain pass. (I'm thinking of eliminating the turnout in the left circle.) On the far left would maybe be a bridge (just an idea). in the right circle would be a town and on the right corner would be a tunnel. The middle crossover going from left to right would be elevated. At the top would be a railroad yard set up.