Atlas Layout thingy

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Clark A., Nov 28, 2004.

  1. Clark A.

    Clark A. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    HAs anyone used that atlas complete layout thing? nd what was your opinion?
  2. seanm

    seanm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kept crashing on me... if you mean the software thing. I got XTrkCad instead.
  3. kchronister

    kchronister Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean RTS? Use it all the time, did my whole layout on it. A little creativity required, since I use flextrack and it's better at dealing with sectional, but all in all a great bargain for the price...
  4. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure that Clark is referring to the Atlas
    complete layout packages which include all the track
    sections required to build one of their pre-designed layouts.

    I figure that the package price would be a good savings off
    the individual pieces, but it would all depend on where you
    buy them. Trainworld doesn't list the complete packages.
    One place I found:

    http://lighthousehobbies.com/

    I know nada about this outfit, but if it had been there I could
    have hit it with a rock from my house when I was a youngster
    in Townsend, MA!! :D :D
  5. Clark A.

    Clark A. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys, yes I was referring to the complete layout pack cid was talking about. I saw one with everything for about 350 USD. Also, buildings and scenery can be bought seperate
  6. 3phase

    3phase Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use rts from atlasrr.com and it works good. Takes alot of time to work with flex track but it will do what you want it to do.

    With flex track you almoste have to build the layout first, reason is you have to know the exact measurement "how long" the flex track is befor you can plug it in a drawing.

    I have never used any other software so i cant give any opinion...
  7. Pitchwife

    Pitchwife Dreamer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use rts all the time and agree that the flex track can be a little tricky but have used it from a few inches in length to complete half circles. The trick is to zoom in with the smaller pieces. Another trick for long straight runs is to use sectional track to establish the run, then cut it out and connect flex track to either end and end up with a single long sraight piece of track.