Atlas C55 frog

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by davidone, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. davidone

    davidone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have decided to use the Atlas C55 track, what does powering the frog do for operation besides powering the frog to prevent hiccups of some locomotives?

    Thanks, Dave:) :)
  2. baldwinjl

    baldwinjl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what it does, other than making you do the work to power it!
  3. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Links to sites or threads that shows how to do this powering of frogs would be appreciated :wave:
    I use Peco turnouts and are about to do this powering and I´m confused about it :rolleyes:
  4. Gary S.

    Gary S. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to add another question to the thread: How important is it to power the frog? Specifically, I am using Atlas Code83 turnouts with the insulated metal frogs.
  5. jcoop1

    jcoop1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    most larger engines will not have a problem, but smaller 4 wheel ones really benefit from a powered frog (Smoother crossing).