Athearn Blue Box F7A Super Weight

Discussion in 'Product Review Forum' started by YmeBP, Dec 27, 2006.

1. YmeBP

YmeBP Member

This is my first real train engine. I bought it on reccomendations from other gauge members it cost me a whopping 28.50 :) brand new!!! I bought it from ToyTrainHeaven.com and aside from a little slipup in delivery time they are great :).

SO ... i'm going to do my best to review this engine from a complete noob's prespective.

Link to full sized images: http://www.skyersfamily.com/gallery/v/Trains/Depot/AthearnBBF7A/

First Impressions:
    1) I like the box. I know it's shallow but the box is nice :).
    2) It's heavy! It is at least 50% heavier than the lifelike and tyco toy engines i have downstairs
    3) From the reccomentations i thought it was going to be bland... but compaired to the toy one (see picture) it looks stunning!!
    4) Shame on Athearn including plastic knickles. Charge me the 2$ more and send me Kadee's!!

Running it:
    Haven't gotten there yet, bot oh boy am i gonna!! ;) I have to install some couplers on it (i have kadee) and get all the accessories installed. I'll post when i've run it around the track a couple times :).
    12/31/2006
    I've installed new Kadee #5 on my loco, and on a couple of cars, put it on the track and gave it a good run. q
    1) It is QUIET, i mean like whisper quiet compared to the other toy grade locos i have.
    2) It runs extremely smoothly even over a purposly unpowered section of track it just keeps on rolling.
    3) It is an incredible puller. I actually ran out of cars to put on it :) so i don't know how many it will pull but right now it is up to double +2 more (13) than the lifelike F7A toy grade loco it is replacing
    4) Did i mention quiet?
    5) Slow speed performance is great, i can pull more cars at a much lower speed than my lifelike toy grade.