ask about Metasequoia

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by seawolf, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. seawolf

    seawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,
    first of all I would like to apologize if this topic is not place in the right place.

    I have a question regarding Metasequoia.
    does this engine have a feature to 'trim' a 3D shapes?

    let say I want to have a sphere with a hole with cube shape.
    the idea is to create a sphere then trim it with cube shape.

    thanks in advance.
    Fiat
  2. seawolf

    seawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,
    first of all I would like to apologize if this topic is not place in the right place.

    I have a question regarding Metasequoia.
    does this engine have a feature to 'trim' a 3D shapes?

    let say I want to have a sphere with a hole with cube shape.
    the idea is to create a sphere then trim it with cube shape.

    thanks in advance.
    Fiat
  3. NOBI

    NOBI Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Seawolf,

    it is easy if you want to Trim with a flat shape like cube, just use a knife to cut it out :)

    but for different shape trim, you must have a plugin what can do this job for you...plugin will available in registration only.

    let's me demonstrate

    first i have cube

    [​IMG]

    and a circle or sphere you want

    [​IMG]

    and cube with sphere

    [​IMG]

    use plugin "Boolean" what is a default plugin from standard registrer version, menu is in japanese but my system cant display that

    [​IMG]

    new window apeear and choose option like below

    [​IMG]

    after click OK...new opject appear with result you want

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    easy? 1-2-click and you got result

    Another result

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  4. NOBI

    NOBI Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Seawolf,

    it is easy if you want to Trim with a flat shape like cube, just use a knife to cut it out :)

    but for different shape trim, you must have a plugin what can do this job for you...plugin will available in registration only.

    let's me demonstrate

    first i have cube

    [​IMG]

    and a circle or sphere you want

    [​IMG]

    and cube with sphere

    [​IMG]

    use plugin "Boolean" what is a default plugin from standard registrer version, menu is in japanese but my system cant display that

    [​IMG]

    new window apeear and choose option like below

    [​IMG]

    after click OK...new opject appear with result you want

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    easy? 1-2-click and you got result

    Another result

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  5. seawolf

    seawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh man, mine is not a registered version :(
    anyway to do it with knife?

    I know it will be a pain in the ###, but if it's possible to do it - I'll try it first :)

    I'm try to build a simple model of ID4's alien invasion ship. I can do fine with the basic cut out of the sphere, but at some point of the sphere, it has a sunken / concave shape space.

    anyway NOBI, thanks for the guide and information.
  6. seawolf

    seawolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh man, mine is not a registered version :(
    anyway to do it with knife?

    I know it will be a pain in the ###, but if it's possible to do it - I'll try it first :)

    I'm try to build a simple model of ID4's alien invasion ship. I can do fine with the basic cut out of the sphere, but at some point of the sphere, it has a sunken / concave shape space.

    anyway NOBI, thanks for the guide and information.