are non-magnetic wheels necessary with magnetic uncouplers?

Wally Hooker

Hi All,

Looks like a great forum here!

I'm a returning-to-the-hobby newb. I've been converting my old (1970's) Athearn rolling stock to Kadee couplers. I'm using a Kadee #321 uncoupler and code 100 track. I've been experimenting and found the uncoupler sticks to the wheels as the cars pass over and causes an almost instant derailment. Obviously once I glue the uncoupler to the track, this problem will go away. But will there be other problems like resistance or drag from the magnetic force?

I don't have this problem with my few new trains (Atlas and Branchline), I assume the wheels are made of a non-magnetic alloy. Should I replace all my old wheels? If so, with what make and model? The Walthers catalog has a ton to choose from!

thanks in advance,
Wally

Gary Pfeil

The magnetic wheels will make it difficult or impossible to uncouple. The wheelsets will always be drawn to the center of the magnet. There are many brands of wheelsets to choose from, I've used mostly Kadee but then its been a long time since I've bought any. Others will chime in.

Nomad

Hi Wally:wave:, and welcome to The Gauge.
Gary is right. Also, if you put any magnets on the mainline, the magnetic wheels will pull towards the magnet and cause your train to uncouple. Very frustrating.

Loren

sgtcarl

wheelsets

First and foremost, welcome to the Forum!
I can't give an opinion which are the best, but I would use Kadee, if I weren't so cheap..., er..budget conscious. :wave:

pgandw

I could be wrong, but I don't know of any wheels being made of steel (magnetic material) - even 50 years ago. What was common (and still is pretty common) were plastic (and sometimes brass or nickel-plated brass) wheels mounted on steel axles.