An interesting B&O box car of 1867

Here is a new modelling project which is already in progress for a few months.

(Click for larger image)

Some times ago I found a short feature of a very unusually B&O box car in an older Railmodel Journal with a short description and sketches with four or five dimensions data that was built in 1867 (!) already. However I thought it could be very interesting to model a B&O box car with an extraordinary length of more than 53” in that time and equipped with ends those look like that of a hopper. The background of this unusual feature is the load – wheat flour that was transported in barrels at that time.
Do I can ever use this model on a layout? Can it run with a train of my preferred time period of around 1900? I think no in all requests but I would like to build this very interesting and unusual model!
First of all I studied a few very old pictures of railroad cars before 1900 in a few magazines. Additionally, I am a proud owner of the book “The American Railroad Freight Car – From the wood car era to the coming of steel” from John H. White and so I have a lot of possibilities to read more about all those details and features. I have to say this book is really brilliant. A wonderful book with pictures, drawings and excellent descriptions with regard to technologies and information of American freight cars until 1900 – and with 100 and more ideas for my next modelling jobs that still I would like all to do. This book is a right encyclopedia for model builders working in railroad´s wood era - as I am too.
After all I made a few fast sketches (not that what you see above) and I built and built and changed again – until the differences were too great like that what I would like to get and so I finished my first attempt.

B_O_box1867_00k.jpg