All it needs is a train!

Josie

Jun 6, 2005
Philadelphia
Hi everyone. :wave: This is my first post to The-Gauge but I've been lurking awhile, trying to soak up all your creativity and knowledge, because I am COMPLETE newbie.

I've decided to stop waffling and do N-scale so that I would have lots of room for stuff. (I like stuff, my wallet doesn't!) I like doing scenery and I've collected tiny houses and stuff for years. I like the idea of finally picking a place, time, and scale.

What my layout doesn't have is a... what do you call it... oh yeah, a train. ;)
I think I like the 50's, so that I can have steam and trolleys and diesel, and I know I like the Delaware Valley as the place, because I'm a Philly girl. What kind of steam engine am I looking for? And who sells it?

Unfortunately I am a poor college student, and can't buy anything that's a 1000 dollars and brass, no matter how awesome it may be. So I'm hoping there is something cool for way less than that. Or should I just run a couple Bachmann trolleys and give up steam?

Thanks in advance,
Josie

who_dat73

Jan 18, 2005
Minnesota
Welcome

Its nice to see another newbie to the gauge My first thought as I read this is read read read search the web and look into all the web sites you can find I bought a lot of good books on the subject on ebay for fairly cheap and if you are a reader like I am they help alot.
and look at your local Wal Mart for Model Railroader magizine or look into the e zine if you cant find the paper version they have a lot of articals for the old timers but I also get a lot of good knoledge from them.
Sorry for the spelling
but thought I might put my two cents worth in.

Most of all have fun and rember a model railroad never ends it just fades into the future:)

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
Josie,