Akitsushima Seaplane Tender

joeyval

Hello all,

My first posting, just joined up yesterday. I'm a WWI plastic modeler who has become interested in the possibilities paper modeling has to offer.

I've seen the Akitsushima Seaplane Tender by Answer (Kartonowa Encyklopedia Techniki), 1:200. I feel that it would be a good first project since it is on the smallish side and looks simple enough, with the Emily seaplane to provide added interest. Has anyone attempted to build this one? Any problems along the way?

I find the color ship's color scheme interesting, having a bow wave painted on, and various diagonal greys on the hull and superstructure.

Would anyone know when she sported such a camouflage? All I know is that she met her demise in or near the Philippines.

BTW, I think the color rendering on the parts is quite good. Subtle shading is utilised to create a better 3D appearance. Too bad the Emily seaplane does not benefit from this as well. It's uppersurface green is too dark. I've got to think of a way to lighten it up and add weathering. Any suggestions?

Thankyou very much

archangel1

Welcome to the club! I've got the model, too, but haven't started her yet (or the hundreds of others in my ever-expanding collection!). One of these days! If you do a search in this forum under her name, you'll see a thread from last year from another builder with some great closeups. Maybe they'll help.

Cheers,
Mike :wave:

joeyval

Ah yes, I did a little snooping and saw that it was Highlander who posted the end part of his Akitsushima build. Very well built model!

I'm starting to fiddle with the Emily wing in Corel. I imported a jpeg scan into Corel Draw (vector program) and am redrawing the panel lines for starters. I forsee changing panel line color to suit the base color it's on. Meaning, a darker version of green for upper lines, darker red for lines on hinomarus, etc. (is this overkill? advice pls.)