Advice on old diesel loco....

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by 2680, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. 2680

    2680 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, here is the deal. i am modelling 1950's era with land like that of WV and PA. i have some cheap locomotives and would like to invest in a quality locomotive for my mainline. i really like the look of the Alco RS-1 and the RS-11 as well. i have not been able to find many of these other than atlas (which seems limited).

    anyone have any ideas on similar models or others that my fit my bill? i am looking to spend around $100 and am running standard DC.

    also, due to space constraints, the track has a 15" radius, so the shorter the better!

    thanks for any advice!
  2. doctorwayne

    doctorwayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both the RS-1 and the RS-11 from Atlas should be readily available for under $100.00 on the used market. I've seen some recently at the LHS for $70.00 or $80.00, although I didn't check the roadnames. Any reputable hobbyshop will run a used loco for you to check it out, although on-line, you take your chances. You won't be disappointed with any Atlas diesel, in my opinion. I do wish they'd make some steam power, though. :)
    Here are some RS-11s on my layout: the second and third units are Atlas, and the other one is a Model Power/LifeLike unit that has been de-motored and re-detailed.

    [​IMG]

    Wayne
  3. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. 2680

    2680 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    man, your rs-11's look great!!!! are those custom painted?

    i like the atlas line of stock, just never had one of their locos.... any feelings on how they would run on a 15" radius?

    thanks!
  5. doctorwayne

    doctorwayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, 2680, I custom painted them using Accupaint CP Action Yellow for the ends and striping, and Floquil Engine Black. The lettering is dry transfers from a C-D-S alphabet set, used as a paint mask. I'm not sure if they'll run on a 15" radius, as my minimum is 30". How about an Atlas S-4 or other switcher?
    [​IMG]

    Wayne
  6. 2680

    2680 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i had seen the s-4 as well and liked it. my LHS has both models new for $60 (atlas), so i will go there next week and see which one is shorter (or has closer wheels) for my small radius. thanks for all your help!

    brett
  7. radar

    radar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Walthers has a proto 1000 rs-2 and athearn also has a rs-2
  8. LongIslandTom

    LongIslandTom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Alco S-series switchers are shorter than the RSes, yep. I don't know about the RSes for sure, but the S locos (S1, S2, S3, S4) will all work on 15" radius no problems.

    The RSes should work on 15" radius I think.. I've got big 4-axle power on my pike such as Athearn GP38-2s and they go around 15" curves no problems.

    If you want Alco S-series switchers, Another alternative is Proto 2000. They make some really nice S1s and S2s and they cost under $40. They are not DCC-equipped, but do have a DCC-ready circuit board (for plugging in a decoder). The P2Ks do have very low gearing-- It has a low top speed and crawls very nicely, and it works on 15" radius. The detailing on the P2K Alco S locos also puts the Atlas to shame.. Though the Atlas is no slouch when it comes to running either.

    Hope this helps.
  9. 2680

    2680 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks alot for all your help. don't know how we did things before the internet!

    i'll look at my LHS this week and make a decision.

    thanks again.
  10. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about the Athearn RS2's but I do know that the two Athearn RS3's I have won't take 15" radius well.