Advice On Concrete Slab

msh

Jul 2, 2002
Charlotte, NC
www.moctezuma-us.com
This is my first attempt ever of building a concrete slab...
concrete1.jpg

Overall, I'm not displeased, but two things happened. 1) I used plaster of paris to do the initial build pouring, using cork roadbed pieces as a shaper for the outside edges. My miscalculation was the roadbed allowed for a slope from the track and the outer edges, preventing my engine house from sitting properly. BAD! So, I used some sculptimold to shape them higher. After a lot of sanding, I ended up with a flatter plane, but also defects that I cannot sand down any further to remove or the slope will return, not to mention several edges that got chipped off. Sloppy! What can I do to repair them in the easiest way? Will the difference in the plaster and sculptimold materials yield different results when washed with the alcohol/india ink stain? You can see different colors already.

I'd rather not start over, but... :(

Tyson Rayles

Sep 25, 2001
Poverty Acres, North Carolina
Visit site
PICKY, PICKY, PICKY :D :D :D As far as the color goes every concrete slab I've seen that's been around awhile (especially when it has been exposed to oils and grease) has a lot of stains and discoloration. If the differences are too gross I would suggest using pastel chalks to even it up. I would add some more sculptamold and sand down again, but I would put the sandpaper on a block so it sands evenly (if you are already doing this please disregard that part :p ). Good luck!

marty w.

Jun 11, 2002
Bloomington, IN
Visit site
msh,
I agree with Tyson.
Even new concrete is not the same color or even color.
Try spackling compound to fix the defects.
I would just leave the defects alone and go for it.
Look great in pic's.
Marty

Vic

Feb 1, 2002
Columbus GA
Visit site
MSH, It looks just fine to me. Like the others have said leave it alone. I think you'll be very happy with it after is colored.:) :)