Advice NEEDED on upcoming show

EngineerKyle

Oct 3, 2005
Troy MI
This coming Sunday I’m doing something I’ve never done before. I have rented table space at the Gratiot Valley Train Show. I would like you all to stop by and see my display which will be titled “Dream Layouts by Engineer Kyle”

http://www.gvrr.org/3-07f.htm

Here’s the thing;

I don’t exactly know what I’m doing, so I am asking you all for any advice you can give. Please take a moment to read my plan listed below, and share with me any ideas you might have that will lead to a successful and satisfying day.

1.)I’ve taken the 17 modules (structures and scenery) that are not glued down off my layout. I’ll display them on the table. I must come up with some type of lightweight shelf structure that I can put on the table so I can get the pieces on three levels. I have yards of black cloth I can use to dress things up.
2.)Each piece will be accompanied by a couple of 8x10 glossies that will show how they look on the layout.
3.)No prices will be listed, only a small tag for each item with a number, the number of hours I worked on it.
4.)I’ll have about 100 trees half made up. I’ll have some spray and WS foam handy, and will show the passersby how to make their own foliage, and give them away, 20 per hour, on the hour.
5.)I have a backdrop half painted, and will work on it to pass the time. I’ve also got some BB kits I can put together.
6.)I’ll have my 10 year old son with me to help out.

I don’t really know where this will lead; I mostly want to promote the hobby and show off my stuff, sort of an exhibition/clinic.

Any thoughts please?

Renovo PPR

Just a Farmer
Dec 23, 2006
Somerset County PA
The only thoughts I have are what are you trying to sell? What is the objective of attending the show? Why wouldn’t you want to have prices if in fact you’re trying to sell something?