Acrylic paints

jimnrose

Does anyone have a preference on acrylic paint brands? Also are there favorite colors that correlate to railroad colors? I'm just getting into painting structures and landscaping but found the color "Toffee" is a pretty good match for "rust" & "Timberline Green" is a pretty good "earth" color.
Take care, Jim

Woodie

Jim,

I use a lot of acrylic paint. The brand is not important. I use Artist's Acrylic paint from an artist/hobbycraft shop. There are 2 qualities. "Student" and "Professional". I use the "student" quality, as it is nearly 50% cheaper. The consistency of these paints is about that of a well beaten cake mix, or toothpaste (if in a tube). Small tubs of the paint are fine and should keep your whole layout covered in paint! Cost should be about $2.50 US for a 7oz pot. A 7oz pot should be more than ample.

COLOURS: I use anything that has "natural" pigments. oxides (red), burnt timber (brown), charcoal/carbon (black, ochre (yellow), bassalt (blue/black), plants/lichen (greens). These sorts of things occur in nature, so should occur on your scenery. Toffee does not occur in nature. eg. Red Oxide's pigment is actually iron oxide (rust).

I use these paints on scenery, (plaster) track ties (plastic) structures (balsa wood) and buildings (printed cardstock to enhance the features (guttering, pipes etc) ROllingstock/loco kits etc I use Floquil or Humbrol. DO NOT USE household acrylic paints.