Accessory Lighting

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by nolatron, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna be running the Digitrax DCS100 on my N-Scale layout (soon hopefully). So far I've got 2 structures that has lighting built in, which is basically a white LED and two wires.

    Can these LEDs just be tapped in the main bus from the DCS100? or is that too much power running through the bus for an LED? If so, how do you go about powering accessories and stuff?

    Thanks.
  2. Gary Pfeil

    Gary Pfeil Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as you use an appropriate resistor you'll have no problem using the track power.
  3. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    It probably came with the appropriate resistor but check to be sure. The current requirements aren't that much to tax the DCC system but consider a separate "accessories" power supply and bus or use "wall warts".
  4. kchronister

    kchronister Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    As the others have said, if you do it right, it should be a problem.

    I myself just use my old DC system's "accessory" output (i.e. AC) and ran an "accessories bus" all 'round the layout right alongside my DCC bus. Whenever I need accessory power I just tap into that.
  5. kchronister

    kchronister Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, meant should NOT be a problem...
  6. nolatron

    nolatron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good idea. I'll have to check out the LHS to look and their DC power supplies and maybe pick up a cheap one with an accessory line. :thumb:
  7. jwmurrayjr

    jwmurrayjr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    An ATX PC power supply makes a great utility power supply. It's easy to "clean" one up so that it has 3.5VDC, 5VDC and 12VDC outputs and one unit will provide gobs of power (250 watts up, depending on the unit.)

    They are about $15 new and you can often get one free.

    Here's one I "converted". One of the Alas forum guys sent me a used PS and there's a link on this link ( :eek: ) with even more detail if you're interested.

    http://www.trainweb.org/silversanjuan/Page3/Page16.html

    :thumb: