Accessory Decoder

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by Limey, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. Limey

    Limey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have wired in A Gaugemaster (MRC) Accesory Decoder for operating 4 turnout motors The motor operates ok but will not move the turnout. Can anyone help pleaseLimey
  2. CalFlash

    CalFlash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you test it out on nomal DC operation before hooking it to the accessory decoder? It sounds like a mechanical problem (binds?) more than an electrical one.
  3. Limey

    Limey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does not seem to be binding, the motor does not appear to be strong enough to move turnout. I am using Peco track and motors
  4. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loosen the turnout if you have nailed it or secured it in some way,it may have something binding under the throw arm.Just a suggestion.
  5. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the Accessory Power Source to the decoder?
  6. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be from the source that you are using for your DCC.
  7. Limey

    Limey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am taking the power from the track- 16vac