A very general/specific question

vilefileman

Dec 11, 2004
Actually 2, since my buddy and I have this discussion/argument all the time.
First, how many of you plot, plan, design, and then piece by piece build your layouts, and how many of you start with a blank 4x8, or 2x10 sheet , just start building and laying track?
Second, and I think this forum will lean toward the latter, how many of you collect trains, but do no or very limited modeling (For example, you buy a small predone layout to test your engines) and how many of you are buy what you need, but mini modelers and layout designers?

I will start.
I have no set path, I just start laying out track, and away I go. I buy a lot of trains, but I am a modeler at heart , designing is my passion. As for my buddy, no matter what he says, he is a COLLECTOR! Ya hear that ROMAN?

Rick aka vilefileman

Voice2

Nov 12, 2005
Uxbridge, MA
I'm on my 3rd layout. For the first (HO), I followed a track plan from a book - and I looked for months before I chose the one I did.

For this one and the last one (N), I designed them on the compter first. I'm one of those who needs a plan to keep motivated.

I buy the trains I need to suit the layout, unless I see one I can't resist in my LHS or online. My problem there is that my LHS is in the same shopping plaza as my local Home Depot. Way too much temptation!!!

davidstrains

Aug 29, 2002
Stafford, VA
Visit site
I am on layout 3. I just put track down in a somewhat organized manner the first time and then went to a MR plan for #2. The one that I am in now in my own design implementing a few elements from a couple of nice plans that I have found in MR and others. I have been "buying" locomotives and stock for 30 years but now only purchase n-scale for the layout. My ho stuff is still in boxes waiting disposition :)

HPRL

Dec 31, 2005
SW Ohio