A qestion about brass locos

hoppercarmaker

I see a lot of brass on ebay pretty cheap.Such Overland, Key imports and some Tenshodo. I know nothing about brass locos. Why are they so cheap is there some reason nobody wants them? Some of them are really nice.

brakie

Well,the majority of the old brass steamers are smooth runners and can vary in price...The thing to remember while these are smooth runners don't expect them to be whisper quiet like today's plastic steam locomotives.

To give you a idea on brass steam locomotives prices I offer this link..
I am not connected with Caboose hobbies in any way and offer this price list solely as a example.

Caboose Hobbies, The best place to enjoy the hobby of model trains, Toy Trains, Model Railroading!

N

nachoman

Depends on what you mean by cheap. I am not a brass expert, but here are my thoughts:

1) There is a bunch of older brass on the market as owners pass away and families sell collections. This may create a bit of a market "glut"

2) A lot of high-quality high-detail plastic or die-cast models have been released over the past 15 years. Prior to then, the only high-detailed steam available was brass. Now brass faces the competition from these less-expensive plastic models, and the prices have come down.