A Hoisted Layout??? Pulleys/wires/in garage

fuzzyloggin

Oct 9, 2006
Sydney,Australia.
hey al, im new to the gauge and just think this place is great,
i have lots of work to be done here and many many ideas, i need to talk to people about layouts,rolling stock dcc you name it but i think the first order of business is for me to ask all you gauges out there if anyone has any information or ideas/opinions and or links about hoisted layouts.

basically ive done all possible negotiations with the boss and tried reworking parts of the house and ive done it all and in the end there is only one spot for my lifetime dream of a fully sceniked model railway and that is hung from the roof of my garage connected to pulleys and attached to a boat winch ive done a hell of alot of work trying to plan this out and i am pretty close to knowing exactly how i shall proceed but like i said any info would be greatly appreciated :)
thanks guys hear from you soon...

LoudMusic

Jul 21, 2006
I don't think I've ever seen a fully hoisted layout, but I've seen plenty that hinge on the wall.

However, one of my other obsessions is to own a particular convertible which has an optional removable hardtop. There are pully hoisting systems for the top (which doesn't way much to begin with) for in the garage. If you keep the overall weight of the layout pretty low I think you could hoist away with little trouble at all. You'd definitely want to remove all the engines and cars first.

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site