2 trains on 1 loop

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by clyde.rupert, Nov 22, 2005.

  1. clyde.rupert

    clyde.rupert New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got 2 trains on 1 loop. I have blocks set up where I can turn off block power by a switch to stop a train from running into the one in front of it. I would like to automate this with reed switches or some other type of sensors.

    Can anyone provide me some direction or send me to a link that tells how to do this?

    Thanks,

    Clyde
  2. Will_annand

    Will_annand Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    DCC I think is your only option.
  3. Ray Marinaccio

    Ray Marinaccio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think you could do this by having your reed switches operate a relay or electronic circuit to shut off or reduce the power on the previous block.
  4. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was done in a magazine article a few years back, and the guy cut power to half for the train in back if it reached the block before the lead train.
  5. clyde.rupert

    clyde.rupert New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ray,

    Good point. I did some timing schemes and I think it will work well. All I need to do is get the reed switch to turn off the power to that block for 40 seconds and everything looks fine on paper.

    Now, how do I find the items to do this (switch? relay? circuit ? )

    Can you lead me anywhere ?


    Clyde
  6. jon-monon

    jon-monon Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    0