1st Attempt @ Mt. building

JKountz

Dec 31, 2005
Wild Wonderful WV
Hey folks, this is my first attempt at making a mountain for my new layout. Any opinions or suggestions would be welcome. My son and I made this thing last night and it went pretty good all considered. Been out of this hobby for about 25 years but am getting back into it now and Im loving it all over again!

Jim

Attachments

• Mountain 001.jpg
    Mountain 001.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 35

TrainClown

Apr 17, 2003
Saskatchewan, Canada
Visit site
Congratulations on your first mountain scaling attempt. :thumb: It dose look like it needs another coat of plaster to cover up the texture of the substrate. I would also point out that although this is fun, you should have laid your track first, before building the mountain. Now it will be a challenge to lay the track inside the cavity and even harder to trouble shoot any problems that could crop up with the track. :rolleyes:

I don't want to discourage you, keep up the good work. I just think you need to get all your ducks in a row. ;) :D But then, I don't know how you plan to use this mountain.

TrainClown :wave:

L

lester perry

TrainClown said:
Now it will be a challenge to lay the track inside the cavity and even harder to trouble shoot any problems that could crop up with the track.
rolleyes.gif

TrainClown
wave.gif
Looks to me as though the back of it is open. I sure hope it is. If that is the case track should be no problem. Also I understand doing plaster first if possible, hard to get off track if you get it on it.

JKountz

Dec 31, 2005
Wild Wonderful WV