1/48 F9F Cougar - Blue Angels

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by exzealot, Feb 23, 2009.

1. exzealot

exzealot Member

To all,

Here is a project that I have been messing with (off and on) for a year or so. I thought I would make some progress with it.. It will be an in-flight version - simple but cool.

The Blue Angels flew the Grumman F9F Cougar during the mid fifties. I always liked the Cougar, and I certainly love the Blue Angels.

Here are pictures of the fuselage... the tail was a real challenge to design. This is a test build, so the final version will be cleaner with edge coloring and a better fit. I am still looking for the correct color. I believe it should be a darker shade of blue..

Ken

Attached Files:

2. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

I am no expert but based on what I have seen of the Blue Angels its definitely not dark enough :)

I really like it so far though!
    Chris
  3. ltla9000311

ltla9000311 Member

kenlwest-You have started on a design that I will purchase once you are done! :thumb: I fell in love with the Cougar when I was about 6 years old when I first wathced The Bridges of Toko-Ri with Wiliam Holden (?) 32 years ago. I have never had the money for the 1/48 plastic kits out there, but I will make room in my budget for your F9F! I await your final results.
  4. Getter1

Getter1 Active Member

Ken,

That's awesome :D Count me in.

ltla,

That movie had the same effect on me but those wern't Cougars, they were Panthers (straight wing ver.).

G1
  5. ltla9000311

ltla9000311 Member

That's right, DUUUHHHH!:p Sorry for the faux paux.
  6. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member

Yes...... Blue Angel blue is much darker.

a quick search of the net found this blue angels RGD 43 79 129

I haven't tried them (I'm at work with PhotoShop) but se what that does for ya.

Also I too would love to see a Panther conversion for this kit. There are lots of colorful versions that could be created.

john
  7. exzealot

exzealot Member

John,