HobbiesHobby ForumWikiHobby Blogs
Zealot Hobby Forum  

Go Back   Zealot Hobby Forum > Zealot News & Support > Off Topic Lounge

WON'T YOU JOIN US?
You are not a registered member and
are viewing this site as a guest.
Registration is simple and FREE.
Join this CrowdGather community today.
Registration offers the following perks:

» Less advertising throughout
» Post and participate in discussions
» Network with other forum members
» Free private messaging

join

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Vince
Member
 
Vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 148
Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0
Default Download site question

Does anyone have any experience with a site called www.filestube.com? I was googling paper ship models, and their site offers a free download of the USS Iowa battleship BB61. They also had, among other things, a free download of the movie "Battleship", which is in theaters now, so I am suspicious this model is a pirate.
__________________
Current build: Buran space shuttle with Energia launch vehicle and Grasshopper transporter.
Vince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 03:11 AM   #2
Psyscape
Member
 
Psyscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rock off the south coast of the UK
Posts: 104
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Filestube like 4Shared, Deposit Files, MegaShares etc. etc. etc. are used by people genuinely sharing files they own and a massive storage facility for pirated goods.

As regards the Iowa model, I think the only ones that were available are GPM 61 and JSC 97. Both of which "may" be available for purchase from reputable sites that have permission, or if you're lucky from a collector on EBay (be aware though that some of the ebay models are scans.) I honestly don't know if the GPM or JSC models are available currently from the original distributors as they're fairly old models. I think - can't confirm I'm afraid - but I think the JSC was a waterline model and the GPM was full hull.

If either of these are available for download somewhere like Filestube, I would suggest they are more than likely pirated scans, not originals.
Psyscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:32 AM   #3
Zathros
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
Default

Filestube mostly has pirated models, but some people do share stuff legitimately. That site is no longer accessibly from the "Land of the Free", the U.S.. I got some of my best scans and pirated models from there!!......only kidding. Usually, if it looks too good, it probably is!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maly Modelarz download site bf109 Internet Finds 24 04-19-2009 09:27 PM
a russian military vehicle site and a question about a part aaronlam Armory & Military 4 06-15-2008 05:35 AM
ACAD2006 $100 Full Version Download Only Site mbauer Software 6 09-26-2007 05:52 PM
Technical site question... TrainNut Getting Started 8 05-02-2006 01:34 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Copyright © 2006 - 2012 Zealot Forums | About Zealot Forums | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community